Setup your Digital Identity with e-Residency

Christmas came early for “The Occasional Estonian”
In the past week I’ve had the chance to use my e-Residency card (aka my newest tech gadget) to do some interesting things. The box they gave me contained: my e-Residency card, a USB card-reader, and my PINs. The PINs are in a secured envelope, meaning you can’t see through it and it’s sealed, nice touch! Have you ever signed up for a service where they mailed you your password or your “PIN” on paper? It’s done often in the US with just a folded piece of paper in a regular envelop, and it’s a great way for fraudsters to stay in business. By contrast, my e-Residency PINs were securely tapered on all sides, and had camouflaged paper on the inside. Freaking awesome, now it’s time to get started with my new toy.

Cyber

Getting started
Instructions for setting up the e-Residency ID card were on the box. I went to e-estonia.com/welcome, like the box says. The only thing I needed to do before using this ID card was install the ID-kaardi software – which they gave a convenient link to on that page. The ease of this reminded me of one of my favorite sites, lmgtfy. For example, if someone asks you “Hey, what is e-Residency?” you can either point them to my blog (yay) or you can troll them by sending this link: http://lmgtfy.com/?q=what+is+e-residency (try it for yourself)

Install ID-kaardi Software
Installation of ID-kaardi software was in Estonian only (I’m sure they’ll address this soon). Luckily that “Continue” button is always in the same place with these kinds of programs, and it’s in *bold* text. Plus, ma räägin natuke Eesti keelt (or Google Translate). Anyway everything after this installation is in English. Installation completed, then a quick reboot, and I was ready to play! Speaking of reboot…it’s almost 2015 and lots of cool technological innovations exist (e-Residency, drones, etc). But why does my computer still insist on rebooting every time I sneeze?!

restart

First run
I ran the ID-kaardi program (yay, it’s in English!) and said that it couldn’t find my card. First I panicked, of course. Then I looked at my computer, which was on my lap with nothing plugged into it (duh, needed to plug the card in). I hadn’t even been drinking – this was just me being too excited. So first I plugged card reader they gave me in my USB slot, let Windows find the device, then inserted my ID card into the card reader. Then, like magic, Windows detected the ID card, and so did the ID-kaardi program!

Change PINs
I pulled out my PIN codes from secured envelope. You can easily change the PIN1, PIN2, and PUK from inside the ID-kaardi software. You should always change any credentials (passwords, PINs, etc) that you are are *given*. You wouldn’t use a password for your bank account that someone else *told* you to use, right? If you don’t think it’s important, then I have some waterfront property in the Sahara desert that I’d like to sell you, please contact me. I’ve also got a friend in Nigeria with a business proposition for you.

fraud

Next post, I’ll sign my first document!

Comments, Questions, Thoughts?

